Skip to main content

SaskTel Pension Plan


The SaskTel Pension Plan is administered by a 3-member team and is overseen by a 5-member board.

The Pension Board

The 5-member Pension Board is comprised of 2 members appointed by the plan sponsor (SaskTel), 2 members appointed by the union (Unifor), and an Independent Chair. The Independent Chair is appointed through a negotiation between SaskTel and Unifor.

Peter Hoffmann – Independent chair

Peter has previously served as a member of the Board of Directors and Chair of Finance and Audit Committee of the Technical Safety Authority of Saskatchewan (TSASK); Past Chair and Chair of the Campion College Board of Regents; member of Ehrlo Community Services Board of Directors and Chair of Finance and Audit Committee; member and President of RES&E Holding Company Board of Directors; and member of Western Development Museum Board of Directors.

Peter has his Chartered Professional Accounting designation (CPA, CMA) and has obtained his Pension Plan Administration Certificate (PPAC).  He worked in the Saskatchewan public sector for 34 years in senior leadership roles for various organizations including Public Employees Benefits Agency (PEBA), Saskatchewan Housing Corporation (SHC) and SASKMEDIA. Peter lives in Regina.

Peter was appointed to the Pension Board in 2018.

Andrew Malinowski – Unifor representative

Andy is a Trunking and Switching Technician based in Yorkton, SK. His entire career has been in network operations, and during his time with SaskTel he has worked on several SaskTel International assignments in Western Europe, the Caribbean, and the USA.

Andy is actively involved in the Union, currently serving as Chief Steward for Yorkton and District. He is a member of the SFL Pensions & Benefits Committee and chair of the Unifor 1-S Benefits Committee.

Andy holds a Retirement Plans Associate (RPA) designation, as well as an ATMS Certificate of Achievement from the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans.

Andy was appointed to the Pension Board in 2014.

Brian Renas – Unifor representative

Brian retired from SaskTel after many years of service, beginning as a Lineman in Weyburn before moving to Regina as a Technical Assistant in the Support/Standards group.

Brian has served as a Unifor/CEP representative on the Pension board from 1999 to 2001, 2006 to 2014, and was appointed to the Pension Board in 2016.

Charlene Gavel – Sponsor representative

Charlene is the Chief Financial Officer for SaskTel, responsible for the corporation’s financial activities and providing leadership in the development of financial strategies. She is also responsible for corporate security.

Charlene holds her CPA designation, and serves on the boards of SaskTel International, SecurTek, DirectWest, and the Regina Downtown Business Improvement District Board.

Charlene was appointed to the Pension Board in 2016.

Scott Smith – Sponsor representative

Scott is the Senior Director – Finance (Controller) of SaskTel, accountable for the preparation of financial information for SaskTel and its subsidiaries and for ensuring SaskTel’s internal financial controls are effective.

Scott holds his CPA designation and is a member of the Financial Executives International organization, the Institute of Internal Auditors, and serves on the board of the Prairie Minor Football Association.

Scott was appointed to the Pension Board in 2014.

The Administration Team

Darlene Achter

Darlene is the prime point of contact for plan members. She is responsible for all aspects of member services and payroll processing, including member record updates, responding to member inquiries, and maintaining all payroll records. Darlene also supports the Pension Board by coordinating and producing the meeting agendas.

Darlene joined the team in 2014.

Arden Priebe

Arden is the Pension Plan’s accountant, primarily responsible for all aspects of the plan’s reporting and coordination the plan’s financial activities. Arden also ensures all plan governance activities are performed as required. Arden is the main backup for member services and payroll.

Arden holds the Pension Plan Administration Certificate.

Arden re-joined the team in 2012, having previously held this role from 1997 to 2003.

David Holzapfel

David oversees the pension administration team, providing guidance and direction as required. He serves as the Secretary to the Pension Board and is the main liaison between the Pension Board and the administration team. David is responsible for all aspects of administering the plan.

David holds the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation as well as a Pension Plan Administration Certificate.

David joined the team in 2012.