Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: Keeping our customers and employees healthy and safe is our priority. Learn more.

SaskTel continues to improve wireless service in rural Saskatchewan with the launch of 28 new cell towers

SaskTel continues to improve wireless service in rural Saskatchewan with the launch of 28 new cell towers

March 31, 2021

SaskTel today announced that it has recently launched 28 new macro cell towers bringing 4G LTE wireless service to previously underserved rural parts of the province. These new towers are located near the communities of Broderick, Damour, Davidson, Davis, Downie Lake, Duperow, Fairlight, Fielding, Fort Walsh, Garthland, Glamis, Gledhow, Glen Harbour, Govan, Juniata, Krydor, Lorenzo, Marie Hill, Maude Lake, Minnehaha, Ranch Lake, South Star, South Touchwood, Spalding, Speers, St. Denis, Trossachs, and Wroxton.

“Our government understands how important communication services have become in the modern world, especially in rural and remote areas,” said Don Morgan, Minister Responsible for SaskTel. “Through the Wireless Saskatchewan initiative, and thanks to the efforts of SaskTel, we’re raising the level of connectivity in rural and remote parts of the province so that our residents are better equipped to compete and succeed in the modern world.”

“As illustrated by a recent report from the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), Saskatchewan already has the best wireless coverage in Western Canada, with over 99% of the population and 98% of the major roadways and highways being covered with LTE wireless service,” said Doug Burnett, SaskTel President and CEO. “And, with the addition of these new towers, wireless coverage in Saskatchewan is getting even better.”

These towers are part of the final phase of the Wireless Saskatchewan initiative, which will see SaskTel invest over $70 million to construct 74 macro cell towers in rural parts of the province – see appendix for locations. Once the final phase of the program is complete, SaskTel’s wireless network will grow to include more than 1,000 cell towers, over 700 of which being located in rural parts of the province.

SaskTel anticipates that all of the cell towers to be constructed as part of the Wireless Saskatchewan initiative will be complete by early Summer 2021.

Added Burnett, “We’re firmly committed to be the best at connecting the people of Saskatchewan, and it’s this commitment that drives us to continue to invest in our networks so that our customers have access to the services they need to stay in touch with what matters most to them from almost anywhere in the province.”

See the Government of Saskatchewan’s September 2020 news release for more information on Wireless Saskatchewan.

About SaskTel

SaskTel is the leading Information and Communications Technology (ICT) provider in Saskatchewan, with over $1.2 billion in annual revenue and approximately 1.35 million customer connections including 637,000 wireless accesses, 296,000 wireline network accesses, 286,000 internet accesses and 112,000 maxTV™ subscribers. SaskTel and its wholly-owned subsidiaries offer a wide range of ICT products and services including competitive voice, data and Internet services, wireless data services, maxTV services, data centre services, cloud-based services, security monitoring services, advertising services, and international software and consulting services. SaskTel and its wholly-owned subsidiaries have a workforce of approximately 3,600 full-time equivalent employees (FTEs). Visit SaskTel at

For media inquiries, please contact:
SaskTel Media Relations
Phone: 306.777.2727


74 Macro Cell Towers

Aberdeen – South *Gibbs *Minnehaha
Arlington Beach *Glamis *Moose Jaw - Pasqua
Arran *Gledhow Mount Pleasant
*Beresina *Glen Harbour *Muddy Lake
*Broderick - North East *Glentworth *Murphy Creek
*Burnham *Govan - East Murray Point - Emma Lake
Candle Lake *Gray *Parkerview
Carrot River – East *Great Deer *Petrofka
*Clayridge Hendon - West Prince Albert - East
*Crescent Lake Indian Point - Turtle Lake *Ranch Lake
*Damour *Jedburgh Shaunavon - South East
*Davidson – West *Jumping Lake Simmie
*Davis *Juniata *Sokal
*Downie Lake *Keppel *South Star
Drinkwater *Kessock *South Touchwood
*Duncairn *Krydor *Spalding - East
*Duperow – North Kuroki - North East *Speers
East Fairwell *Lajord *St. Denis
*Ebenezer *Lorenzo Swanson
*Fairlight *Main Centre Torquay - North
*Fielding Makwa Lake *Trossachs
*Filion Lake Marean Lake *Wandsworth
*Fort Walsh *Marie Hill *Worcester
*Frenchman Butte *Maude Lake *Wroxton - North
*Garthland *Meacham - East
*Towers currently in-service