Skip to main content

Grant Kook

Board of Directors

Grant Kook


Grant J. Kook is Founder, President, Chief Executive Officer and Chair of Westcap Mgt. Ltd., a leading venture capital and private equity fund manager with over half a billion in assets under management. Founded over 25 years ago, Westcap has an uncompromising vision to build long-term value for retail and institutional investors in a broad range of investment funds, including Saskatchewan’s first Retail Venture Capital Fund, Golden Opportunities Fund Inc. Westcap is also the Fund Manager to HeadStart on a Home, First Nations and Métis Fund, First Nations Business Development Fund and a high net worth Management Buyout Fund. Mr. Kook is also President and Chief Executive Officer of Cheung On Investments Group Ltd., an international investor syndicated Fund, and has been the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Ramada Hotels (Regina and Saskatoon) since 1992.

Mr. Kook serves on the boards of numerous private and publicly traded companies, including Saskatchewan Blue Cross and 3sHealth Shared Services Saskatchewan, and the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Investment Committee. He is the past Vice President of the Canadian Venture Capital and Private Equity Association (CVCA), past member of the World Entrepreneurs Association, and was the Co-chair of the Saskatchewan-Asia Advisory Council. He is active in many community organizations, including serving as Voluntary Past Chair of the Children’s Hospital Foundation of Saskatchewan, Executive Committee Member of the Mike Weir Miracle Golf Drive for Kids, Sponsorship Chair for the 2006 PotashCorp Vanier Cup and 2004 Canadian Nokia Brier, Vice President of Sponsorship for 2010 Canadian World Junior Hockey Championship, Director of 2012 Tim Horton’s Brier, Chair of 2013 and 2014 CIS University Cup, and past Board Member of the new Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame.

Grant is a recipient of the 2013 Saskatchewan Order of Merit, 2012 Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Commemorative Medal, and Commemorative Medal for the Centennial of Saskatchewan. He is the recipient of the 2014 Saskatoon Tourism Leadership award, the 2008 B’nai Brith – We are Proud of You Award, Ernst & Young nominee for Entrepreneur of the Year in 1998 and 2003, and was recognized in 2008 as one of the Province’s Most Influential Men by Saskatchewan Business Magazine.